Country guide
Study in Albania: universities, tuition fees and admission
Our catalogue has 34 universities and colleges in Albania offering 536 undergraduate programmes in 7 cities. 316 of the programmes are at public institutions and 220 at private ones.
- Universities
- 34
- Programmes
- 536
- Cities
- 7
- EU fee / year, public
- €276
- Non-EU fee / year, public
- €276
Always check current information on the official website of the university before you apply.
How admission works
You apply online through U-Albania (ualbania.al), the national application portal run by the Ministry of Education: you create an account, pay the application fee, fill in the A2/A3 form and rank up to 10 programmes in order of preference. Each programme publishes its places and its entry formula on the portal: points come from the secondary-school average, the State Matura average and grades in the subjects the programme names (some also require an entry exam), and the portal lists separate quotas for foreign applicants and for candidates from Kosovo, North Macedonia, Montenegro and the Preševo Valley. Applicants with a foreign school certificate need it recognised by the Education Services Centre (QSHA) before applying. Some private institutions also run their own application on top of the national rounds; check each institution's website. The Ministry publishes the dates of the application rounds every year, so confirm them on ualbania.al.
- Selection: grade limit (numerus clausus)
- Main exam or platform: Matura Shtetërore
Tuition fees in Albania
At public universities an EU student typically pays €276 a year, and a student from outside the EU €276 a year. All amounts are per year in euros; fees charged per credit or per semester are converted to a full year (60 ECTS credits or two semesters).
| EU students, typical | EU students, range | Non-EU students, typical | Non-EU students, range | Programmes with a published fee | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public universities | €276 | €110–€496 | €276 | €110–€496 | 240 of 316 |
| Private universities | €4,000 | €300–€14,000 | €4,000 | €300–€14,000 | 98 of 220 |
Where the fee depends on family income, the typical figure is the full fee and the range starts at the lowest one.
Good to know about fees
- Shqipëria: State universities charge tuition set per programme within the ceiling fixed by Council of Ministers decision no. 288/2018. A student pays 50% of the listed annual tuition (the state covers the rest) and the full tuition if the average after the first year is below 6; foreign citizens pay the same tuition as Albanians unless an interstate agreement says otherwise. Top students and several social categories are exempt, and a one-off registration fee (about 1,600 lek) comes on top. The site shows the amount a first-year student pays and, in the upper end of the range, the full tuition; tuition is quoted for the latest year the university has published, which is marked on each price. Private institutions set their own fees, often in euros, and many have a separate (higher) price for international students and discounts for early payment. Prices are in Albanian lek (ALL); euro equivalents use the Bank of Albania rate of 23 October 2026 (1 EUR = 90.74 ALL). Citizens of EU countries are not named in the state-university rule, so the foreign-student price is shown for them too.
Language of instruction
Albanian: 331 programmes; English: 85 programmes; Italian: 2 programmes. See all English-taught programmes in Albania.
Map of universities in Albania
Each dot is a university or college: select it to open its page. The street map is optional and loads images from OpenStreetMap.
Where to study: cities
| City | Universities | Programmes | Typical EU fee / year, public |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tirana (Tiranë) | 27 | 341 | €331 |
| Durrës | 1 | 47 | €276 |
| Vlora (Vlorë) | 2 | 44 | €220 |
| Elbasan | 1 | 33 | €276 |
| Shkodër | 1 | 30 | €220 |
| Korça (Korçë) | 1 | 24 | €220 |
| Gjirokastra (Gjirokastër) | 1 | 17 | €220 |
All 34 universities in Albania by city
What you can study
- Computer Science 65
- Languages and Literature 33
- Finance and Accounting 31
- Business Administration 28
- Nursing 25
- Music and Musicology 24
- Law 15
- Physiotherapy 14
- Tourism 13
- Journalism 12
- Mathematics 11
- Economics 10
- Biomedical Laboratory Science 10
- Marketing 10
- English Studies 9
- Pharmacy 9
- Psychology 9
- Dentistry 9
- Architecture 9
- Design 9
- Telecommunications Engineering 9
- Optics and Optometry 8
- Sport Sciences 8
- Early Childhood Education 8
- Civil Engineering 8
- Mechanical Engineering 8
- Social Work 7
- History 7
- International Relations 7
- Medical Imaging and Radiotherapy 7
- Primary Education Teaching 7
- Data Science 7
- Biology 6
- Physics 5
- Food Science and Technology 5
- Environmental Engineering 5
- Political Science 5
- Performing Arts 5
- Electrical Engineering 5
- Fine Arts 4
- Agronomy 4
- Audiovisual Communication 4
- Geography 3
- Medicine 3
- Naval and Maritime Engineering 3
- Mining and Geological Engineering 3
- Biotechnology 2
- Philosophy 2
- Chemical Engineering 2
- Chemistry 2
- Speech Therapy 2
- Conservation and Restoration 2
- Public Administration 2
- Geomatics and Surveying 2
- Veterinary Medicine 2
- Archaeology 1
- Sociology 1
- International Business 1
- Industrial Engineering 1
- Industrial Electronics and Automation 1
- Energy Engineering 1
- Materials Engineering 1
- Human Nutrition and Dietetics 1
- Forestry 1
- Landscape Architecture 1
- Pedagogy 1
- Biomedical Engineering 1
Sources
- Vendim i Këshillit të Ministrave nr. 288, datë 21.5.2018 (i ndryshuar), Tabela nr. 1: kufiri maksimal i tarifës vjetore të shkollimit (ALL) për programin; studentët paguajnë 50% (pika 1), tarifën e plotë nëse mesatarja në vitin e parë është nën 6 (pika 1/1); shtetasit e huaj paguajnë të njëjtën tarifë si shqiptarët (pika 7) — pozicioni «Farmaci» (45 000 ALL), checked 24 October 2026
- Universiteti i Tiranës — Pyetje të zakonshme, nr. 14: tarifa e shkollimit për vitin akademik 2024–2025, Cikli i parë Bachelor — Latest published annual tuition (2024/25), shown as 50% (what a student pays, VKM 288/2018 art. 1) up to 100%; foreigners pay the same (art. 7)., checked 24 October 2026
- Universiteti Politeknik i Tiranës — Vendim i Senatit Akademik nr. 32, datë 26.06.2025: miratim paraprak i tarifave vjetore të shkollimit për ciklin e parë Bachelor, viti akademik 2025-2026 (Tabela nr. 2, ALL) — Annual tuition approved for 2025/26 (latest published; amount shown as 50% that a student pays under Council of Ministers decision 288/2018 art. 1, up to the full fee); foreign citizens pay the same as Albanians (art. 7). Registration fee (1 600 ALL) not included., checked 24 October 2026
- University of New York Tirana — Admission Criteria page, bachelor fee table "UNYT Diploma Annual Tuition Fee" (EUR); "This fee is for the 2026-2027 academic year." — Annual tuition for the UNYT diploma track (a separate SUNY-diploma track costs more and is not included); one fee for all students, no separate international tariff on the page; registration/prepayment deposit not included., checked 24 October 2026
- EPOKA University — Admission Office, Fees — Tuition Fees (annual tuition, local students in ALL, international students in EUR; page does not state the academic year, current on 2026-10-24) — The page does not state the academic year; it is the current fee page on 2026-10-24. Annual tuition, paid in two equal instalments; registration fee not included. "Local Students" column., checked 24 October 2026
- Western Balkans University — International Admissions: "Tuition Fees for International Students" (EUR per year) — Current fee page on 2026-10-24; the page does not state the academic year. Annual tuition; application fee (5 000 ALL) not included. International students (not split into EU / non-EU)., checked 24 October 2026
- Canadian Institute of Technology (CIT) — Admissions > Tuition Fees (EUR per year; "Tuition Fees for National Students" / "for International Students"; page does not state the academic year) — Current fee page on 2026-10-24 (academic year not stated). Annual tuition for first cycle; one-off registration fee (300 EUR national / 500 EUR international) not included. Faculty of Economy, national students., checked 24 October 2026
- Kolegji Universitar i Biznesit (KUB) — Pranimet > Tarifat e studimeve: «Tarifat për Vitin Akademik 2025-2026» — Latest published annual tuition (2025/26); one tariff for all students. Integrated programme in law not priced separately on the page, so it is left without a price., checked 24 October 2026
How the figures are collected and calculated: Data and sources.