Country guide
Study in Kosovo: universities, tuition fees and admission
Our catalogue has 23 universities and colleges in Kosovo offering 241 undergraduate programmes in 7 cities. 116 of the programmes are at public institutions and 125 at private ones.
- Universities
- 23
- Programmes
- 241
- Cities
- 7
- EU fee / year, public
- Free
- Non-EU fee / year, public
- Free
Always check current information on the official website of the university before you apply.
How admission works
Public universities admit students through an annual public call (konkurs): you apply online, then hand in your documents at the faculty. At the University of Gjakova, for example, ranking is out of 100 points: secondary-school grades (up to 30), the State Matura (up to 30 for those who sat it) and an entry exam (up to 40, or up to 70 for applicants without a Matura), with at least 40% of the entry-exam points required; each candidate may apply to one programme only. Places are limited by the quotas accredited by the Kosovo Accreditation Agency (KAA), with reserved places for non-majority communities and for applicants from the Preševo Valley, North Macedonia, Albania and Montenegro. Candidates who finished school outside Kosovo compete on the same conditions, but their school certificate must be recognised (nostrified) by the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation. Private colleges run their own admission and publish their own calls. Each university announces the dates of its call on its website, so check them there.
- Selection: entrance exam
- Main exam or platform: Matura Shtetërore
Tuition fees in Kosovo
At public universities an EU student typically pays no tuition fee, and a student from outside the EU no tuition fee. All amounts are per year in euros; fees charged per credit or per semester are converted to a full year (60 ECTS credits or two semesters).
| EU students, typical | EU students, range | Non-EU students, typical | Non-EU students, range | Programmes with a published fee | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public universities | €0 | €0 | €0 | €0 | 116 of 116 |
| Private universities | €1,950 | €1,335–€7,140 | €1,950 | €1,335–€7,140 | 31 of 125 |
Where the fee depends on family income, the typical figure is the full fee and the range starts at the lowest one.
Good to know about fees
- Kosova: At public universities, a regular full-time Bachelor student pays no tuition when registering a semester for the first time (Administrative Instruction MASHTI 09/2021); repeating a semester costs 25 euros, and there are small administrative fees (for example 5 euros for a diploma). The Instruction makes no difference between Kosovo and foreign students, but separate terms for foreigners may exist at individual universities — check before applying. Private colleges set their own fees, usually per semester or per year, and some publish them only in the call or on request; where a price is shown, it is the amount the college lists for a first-year student. All prices are in euros.
Language of instruction
Albanian: 115 programmes; English: 3 programmes; Turkish: 2 programmes.
Map of universities in Kosovo
Each dot is a university or college: select it to open its page. The street map is optional and loads images from OpenStreetMap.
Where to study: cities
| City | Universities | Programmes | Typical EU fee / year, public |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pristina (Prishtinë) | 13 | 171 | €0 |
| Prizren | 2 | 17 | €0 |
| Ferizaj | 3 | 16 | €0 |
| Mitrovica (Mitrovicë) | 2 | 14 | €0 |
All 23 universities in Kosovo by city
What you can study
- Computer Science 28
- Languages and Literature 17
- Business Administration 11
- Design 11
- Law 10
- Economics 8
- Optics and Optometry 7
- Psychology 6
- Food Science and Technology 6
- Finance and Accounting 6
- Marketing 6
- Sport Sciences 6
- Agronomy 6
- Journalism 5
- Civil Engineering 5
- Mechanical Engineering 5
- Nursing 5
- Architecture 5
- Fashion Design 5
- Environmental Engineering 4
- Dentistry 4
- Music and Musicology 4
- Fine Arts 4
- Primary Education Teaching 4
- Biomedical Laboratory Science 4
- Social Work 3
- International Relations 3
- Energy Engineering 3
- Pharmacy 3
- Performing Arts 3
- Tourism 3
- Medical Imaging and Radiotherapy 3
- Hospitality and Gastronomy 3
- Mathematics 2
- Biology 2
- Chemistry 2
- Industrial Electronics and Automation 2
- Physiotherapy 2
- Early Childhood Education 2
- Mining and Geological Engineering 2
- Public Administration 2
- Speech Therapy 2
- Anthropology 1
- Philosophy 1
- History 1
- Sociology 1
- Chemical Engineering 1
- Physics 1
- Geography 1
- Geomatics and Surveying 1
- Medicine 1
- Veterinary Medicine 1
- International Business 1
- Forestry 1
- Telecommunications Engineering 1
- Materials Engineering 1
- Biochemistry 1
- Human Nutrition and Dietetics 1
- Logistics 1
Sources
- Udhëzim Administrativ MASHTI nr. 09/2021 "Aplikimi i pagesave të studentëve në institucionet publike të arsimit të lartë" (Administrative Instruction on student fees in public HEIs), art. 2 and art. 5 — copy published by the University of Gjakova — Regular full-time Bachelor students of Kosovo public institutions pay no tuition for first-time semester registration (Administrative Instruction MASHTI 09/2021, art. 5.1, valid from 2021/22; a repeated semester costs 25 EUR). The Instruction does not distinguish students by citizenship; separate terms for foreign students were not found., checked 24 October 2026
- AAB College — "Tuition fees" (list of study fees per programme, per semester; PDF published December 2025; academic year not stated) — Published per semester; annual amount = 2 × semester fee. The PDF (Dec 2025) does not state the academic year; shown as 2025/26. One tariff for all students; no enrolment or registration fee (diploma issue 90 EUR not included). (950 EUR × 2)., checked 24 October 2026
- RIT Kosovo (A.U.K.) — Finance Office, Tuition Fees (per year; tuition + student activities fee + technology fee; early / regular / late application rates) — Per year, including mandatory student activities fee (40) and technology fee (300): 6 840 (early application rate: tuition 6 500) to 7 140 (late application rate: tuition 6 800); regular rate 6 940. Page does not state the academic year (current on 2026-10-24)., checked 24 October 2026
How the figures are collected and calculated: Data and sources.