Study Medicine in English in Czechia: Prague, Pilsen, Hradec Králové, Brno
Fee figures: catalogue of 6 October 2026.
Our catalogue lists 5 English-taught medicine programmes out of 12 in Czechia, at 6 institutions and campuses. Czech-taught medicine is free of tuition, but it is taught in Czech; the English programmes charge fees. In our catalogue they cost €12,500 to €17,207 a year, with a typical figure of €15,978, and EU and non-EU students pay the same. This guide uses the faculties' own pages as read in October 2026.
The English programmes
All of them are six-year master's courses that lead to the degree of doctor of medicine (MUDr.).
| Faculty | Tuition | Application fee |
|---|---|---|
| Charles University, First Faculty of Medicine, Prague | €24,250 a year (stated for students starting in 2025/26) | €285 for the 2026/27 call |
| Charles University, Second Faculty of Medicine, Prague | 420,000 CZK a year for 2026/27 | 2,500 CZK |
| Charles University, Faculty of Medicine in Pilsen | 390,000 CZK a year, paid in full at once | 990 CZK for the 2027/28 call |
| Charles University, Faculty of Medicine in Hradec Králové | not stated on the admission page | 2,500 CZK |
| Masaryk University, Brno | 380,000 CZK a year | none listed on the national portal |
| Palacký University, Olomouc | not stated on the page we read | 80 EUR, with no separate exam fee |
Fees in crowns are converted to euros in our catalogue. They are set for each academic year, so check the faculty page before you pay.
How the entrance exams work
Each faculty publishes its own selection procedure, so the format and dates differ.
- Prague, First Faculty: a paper multiple-choice test in biology, chemistry and general science, 90 minutes, with 25 points per subject, followed by an oral round of five online stations of 10 minutes each. Only the oral round decides admission. For 2026/27 the application deadline was 5 September 2026, and the exams were on 16 and 23 September. No English certificate was required.
- Prague, Second Faculty: a written test of 75 questions in biology, chemistry, physics and logic, taken in 90 minutes, then an interview for the best-scoring applicants. For the 2027 intake, applications run from 1 November 2026 to 30 April 2027. The regular exam in Prague is on 3 June 2027 and an alternative one on 22 July 2027,.
- Pilsen: a written test of 60 multiple-choice questions, 20 each in chemistry, biology and physics, with no penalty for wrong answers. Applications for 2027/28 are open from 1 November 2026 to 30 April 2027. The exams in Pilsen are on 26 May and 28 June 2027, and partner agencies run sessions in several countries from May to August. If admitted, you also pay a separate 1,050 CZK fee for the assessment of your school documents.
- Hradec Králové: a written test (60 points: biology 25, chemistry 25, physics or mathematics 10) and an oral interview (40 points), taken online, in Czechia or abroad. The deadline for the 2027 exams is 30 April 2027, and the faculty lists 105 places.
- Brno: Masaryk University describes written tests in chemistry, biology and physics, with 40 questions each. The national study portal, studyin.gov.cz, however, lists the admission as without an entrance exam, and its window for 2026 ran from 2 January to 31 July 2026. These two official pages disagree, so ask the faculty at admission@med.muni.cz before you plan your preparation.
- Olomouc: applications for September 2027 open on 1 November 2026 and close on 31 July 2027, and the entrance exam is taken online. The page we read does not give the exam format or the tuition.
Some faculties exempt applicants with particular qualifications from the written test; see IB Diploma admission in Czechia.
Exams abroad and representatives
Several faculties list exam sessions run by partner organisations in other countries, and the First Faculty says applicants may apply through an official international representative. The First Faculty advises you to contact the representative before you pay the application fee, and Pilsen says agency services are paid separately. Check the faculty's list of partners and do not pay an agency that the faculty does not name.
School certificate and preparation
You need completed secondary education. The First Faculty lets you apply before you finish school, but you must show proof of completed secondary education before enrolling. Foreign certificates may need recognition; see nostrification in Czechia. Masaryk University recommends its e-learning preparatory courses for the entrance tests.
Czech language during the clinical years
The programmes are taught in English, but outside the classroom Czech helps; see Czech language exams.
Where to look next
- Bachelor's degrees in English in Czechia
- How much it costs to study in Czechia
- Student visa for Czechia
- Studying medicine in English across Europe
- Medicine programmes in Czechia
Official sources
- Second Faculty of Medicine, Charles University: how to apply and key admission dates
- First Faculty of Medicine: admission 2026/2027
- Faculty of Medicine in Pilsen: admission procedure
- Faculty of Medicine in Hradec Králové: General Medicine
- Masaryk University: General Medicine and Study in Czechia: General Medicine at Masaryk University
- Palacký University Olomouc, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry: admissions
Always check current information on the official website of the university before you apply.